GH Elections2020: NDC rejects results of the presidential elections

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) has rejected the results of the 2020 Presidential elections as announced by the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission (EC),Jean Mensa on Wednesday December 9,2020.

Speaking at a Press Conference after the declaration of results,the Minority Leader,Haruna Iddrisu stated that the party has doubts about the whole electoral process hence, the rejection.

“We reject the presidential elections as announced by the chair of the Electoral Commission. And we also want to serve notice that the blatant effort even to deny us of a parliamentary majority will be fiercely resisted”.

Meanwhile,Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has been re-elected as President of the Republic of Ghana.

MOBO Awards 2020: Full List Of Winners

The MOBO Awards 2020 is over and as always, Entertainment hub brings you up to date with the full list of winners from the event which saw performances from live performances from Headie One feat. M Huncho, H.E.R., Tiwa Savage, Ms Banks, DaVido, Young T & Bugsey, Shaybo, Tiana Major9, Stylo G & Kojey Radical.

The MOBO Awards 2020 was hosted by Maya Jama & Chunkz.

Song of the Year
Young T & Bugsey – Don’t Rush (feat Headie One) * WINNER

Digga D – Woi
Darkoo – Gangsta (feat One Acen)
Tion Wayne – I Dunno (feat Stormzy & Dutchavelli)
Abra Cadabra – On Deck

Best Newcomer
Alicai Harley
Ivorian Doll
Miraa May
Pa Salieu
Tiana Major9
M Huncho

Best Hip-Hop Act
J Hus
Nines * WINNER
Ms Banks
D-Block Europe
Krept & Konan
Potter Payper

Best Media Personality
Munya Chawawa
Chunkz *WINNER
Yung Filly
Mo Gilligan
Clara Amfo
Maya Jama
Henrie Kwushue
Harry Pinero
Zeze Millz

Best Grime Act
P Money
Manga Saint Hilare
Capo Lee

Best African act
Burna Boy
Tiwa Savage
Fireboy DML
Master KG
Adekunle Gold
Afro B
Wizkid * WINNER
Shatta Wale

Best Male Act
Headie One *WINNER

J Hus
AJ Tracey
Young T & Bugsey

Best Female Act
Lianne La Havas
Ms Banks
Tiana Major9
Mahalia *WINNER
FKA twigs

Album of the Year
J Hus – Big Conspiracy
Stormzy – Heavy Is the Head
Mahalia – Love and Compromise
Nines – Crabs in a Bucket *WINNER
Lianne La Havas – Lianne La Havas

Video of the Year
Bree Runway – Apeshit (directed by Will Hooper)
Nines – Clout (directed by Charlie Di Placido)
NSG – Lupita (directed by Kevin Hudson) *WINNER
Jorja Smith – By Any Means (directed by Otis Dominique)
Knucks – Home (directed by Ray Fiasco)
Kojey Radical – 20/20 (directed by Charlie Di Placido)

Best R&B/soul Act
Tiana Major9
Michael Kiwanuka
Mahalia *WINNER
Lianne La Havas

Best International Act
Burna Boy *WINNER

Megan Thee Stallion
Pop Smoke
Roddy Ricch
Summer Walker
Lil Baby

Best Album (1 September 2017 – 31 August 2019)
Dave – Psychodrama
Kano – Hoodies All Summer
Ella Mai – Ella Mai * WINNER
Skepta – Ignorance Is Bliss
Nines – Crop Circle
Little Simz – Grey Area

Best Reggae Act
Lila Iké
Buju Banton *WINNER

Best Gospel Act
Calledout Music *WINNER

Noel Robinson
Guvna B
The Kingdom Choir

Best Jazz Act
Moses Boyd
Joe Armon-Jones
Tom Misch & Yussef Dayes
Yazmin Lacey
Ego Ella May *WINNER

Best Producer

808 Melo
Sir Spyro
Steel Banglez
M1 On The Beat

Best Performance in a TV Show/Film
Kane Robinson as Scully – Top Boy
Michaela Coel as Arabella – I May Destroy You
Ncuti Gatwa as Eric Effiong – Sex Education
Jessica Plummer as Chantelle – Eastenders
Michael Ward as Marco – Blue Story *WINNER
Damson Idris as Franklin Saint – Snowfall

MOBO Inspiration Award

Kwesi Arthur nominated for MTV Africa Music Awards Best Hiphop

Kwesi Arthur has been nominated for the upcoming 2021 MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA). The rapper has been nominated for Best Hiphop, in the MAMA nominations announced on on Wednesday evening.

Kwesi Arthur is nominated alongside Nasty C, Kaligraph Jones, NGA, OMG and Suspect 95

Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo declared President-Elect

New Patriotic Party (NPP) presidential candidate, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has won the tightly contested 2020 election.

He polled 6,730, 413 which is 51.59% of the total votes cast nationwide on December 7.

His closest contender, John Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) polled 6, 214, 889 which gives him 47.36% of the total votes cast.

The Electoral Commissioner, Jean Mensa who is the Returning officer of the 2020 presidential election announced the results Wednesday.

She added that there results for the Techiman South is outstanding due as it is being contested.

However, she noted that even if those results are added to the votes obtained by former President Mahama, it will not add up to the 50 plus 1 per cent needed he needs to win the election.