GH Elections2020: NDC rejects results of the presidential elections

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) has rejected the results of the 2020 Presidential elections as announced by the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission (EC),Jean Mensa on Wednesday December 9,2020.

Speaking at a Press Conference after the declaration of results,the Minority Leader,Haruna Iddrisu stated that the party has doubts about the whole electoral process hence, the rejection.

“We reject the presidential elections as announced by the chair of the Electoral Commission. And we also want to serve notice that the blatant effort even to deny us of a parliamentary majority will be fiercely resisted”.

Meanwhile,Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has been re-elected as President of the Republic of Ghana.

GH Elections2020: Derek P K Nkansa,(NPP UK Chairman) Writes.

So the NDC claims it has won the elections, yet refuses to produce evidence to back it? What a party?

The results were declared, certified and signed at the polling stations, before onward transmission to the Constituency Collation Center for aggregated tabulation.

The truth is at the Polling station and that truth in the form of a pink sheet is given to every Party agent at the Polling Station.

And so I dare Ex-President Mahama, to show us his pink sheets, and let’s put that side by side with ours and the truth will be clear to him.

NDC, produce your pink sheets and let’s compare.

There is only one truth; His Excellency President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo has won the elections hands down.

GH Election2020: 10 NPP MPs Who Have Lost Their Seats

Results trickling in the just ended 2020 general elections are showing trends that hasn’t happened in Ghana before.

At least 28 incumbent New Patriotic Party (NPP) legislators have lost their parliamentary seats in Monday’s elections.

Some 21 of them are either ministers, ministers of state or deputy ministers.

That is aside from the 41 who lost the NPP primaries earlier this year and thus did not contest yesterday’s polls.

Meanwhile, four NPP MPs are retiring, including Dr Anthony Akoto Osei of Tafo Pankrono, Kwabena Appiah Pinkrah of Akrofuom, Dr Ziblim Iddi of Gushegu and Shirley Ayorkor Botchway of Anyaa Sowutuom.

In total, the NPP will lose at least 92 MPs out of their 169 in the next Parliament. Hopefully, the new ones will live beyond expectations.

Below is the list of MPs who lost the elections on December 7 2020, their constituencies and their positions in government.

1) George Oduro – New Edubiase – Deputy Agric Minister

2) George Andah – Awutu Senya – Deputy Communications Minister

3) Yaw Buabeng Asamoah – Adenta

4) Boniface Abubakar Saddique – Minister of State

5) Siaka Stephens – Jaman North – Deputy Bono Regional Minister

6) Yaw Afful – Jaman South – Deputy Aviation Minister

7) Ali Maiga Hamidu – Dormaa West

8) George Gyan Baffuor – Wenchi – Minister for Planning

9) Derrick Oduro – Nkoranza North – Deputy Defence Minister

10) Charles Konadu Yiadom – Nkoranza South

11) Abena Durowaa Mensah – Assin North

12) Barbara Asher Ayisi – Cape Coast North – Deputy Minister for Works and Housing

13) Francis Kingsley Cudjoe – Ekumfi – Deputy Fisheries Minister

14) Alexander Abban – Gomoah West – Deputy Minister for Communications

15) Joseph Tetteh – Upper Manya Krobo – Deputy Eastern Regional Minister

16) Ebenezer Nartey – Ablekuma Central

17) Titus Glover – Tema East – Deputy Minister for Transport

18) Joseph Dindiok Kpemka – Tempane – Deputy Attorney General

19) Adongo Frank Fuseini – Zebilla – Deputy Upper East Regional ministers

20) Anthony Karbo – Lawra – Deputy Roads Minister

21) Michael Gyato – Krachi East – Deputy Minister for Water Resources and Sanitation

22) Paul Essien – Jomoro – Deputy Minister for Chieftaincy

23) Barbara Oteng Gyasi – Prestea Huni Valley – Minister for Tourism

24) Kofi Amoakohene – Atebubu Amanten – Bono East Regional Minister

25) Gabriel Osei – Tain

26) Oko Boye – Ledzokuku – Deputy Minister for Health

27) Elizabeth Afoley Quaye – Krowor – Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture

28) Hajia Alima Mahama – Nalerigu /Gambaga – Minister for Local Government and Rural Development

29) Also, Upper East Regional Minister Paulina Abayange who is not an MP lost the elections in the Navorongo Constituency.

The tally featuring the National Democratic Congress (NDC) will be published separately soon.

source: myjoyonline

‘Thank you for giving NDC a working majority in Parliament’ – Mahama to Ghanaians

Presidential candidate of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), John Mahama, has claimed that the party has won the majority of parliamentary seats in the 2020 general elections.

‘Thank you for giving NDC a working majority in Parliament’ – Mahama to Ghanaians

Ghanaians across the country cast their votes in the presidential and parliamentary elections on Monday, December 7, 2020.

However, 24 hours after voting was closed, collation is still ongoing in some constituencies with some results yet to be confirmed.

The NDC, though, earlier conducted a press conferences where they claimed to have won about 140 parliamentary seats.

GH Elections2020: Policeman Dies While On Election Duties At Ahafo Region

Detective Constable Kwarteng Abebrese Nantwi of Police Criminal Investigation Department (CID) Headquarters Operations in Accra currently on Election Duties at Ahafo Region is dead.

Sources confirmed from the police that he fell sick and was rushed to Hwidiem Government Hospital but was discharged after treatment.

Earlier today December 7, 2020, he fell unconscious in his room and was rushed back to the same hospital for further treatment but was pronounced dead on arrival.

His body has since been deposited at same Hospital morgue pending further action while the police administration has notified the immediate family of his unfortunate passing.